2.5/4 · 2000s · Action · Best Picture Winner · Review · Ridley Scott

Gladiator

#76 in my ranking of Best Picture winners at the Oscars.

Let me preface this by mentioning that I am something of a Ridley Scott fanboy. I hold him up probably higher than I should in the pantheon of modern filmmakers, and I don’t mind admitting it. However, the one film that I seem out of step on in the other direction than most audiences, feeling more negatively towards it than positive, is probably the one film that he’s most praised for: Gladiator. I’ve had several viewings over the past couple of decades to begin to sort through why I’m disengaged through large swaths of the film, and I think I can write them down.

The story of the Spanish General Maximus (Russell Crowe) is built well, I’ll say that. The script by John Logan, David Franzoni, and William Nicholson has all of the structural points it needs to tell this story of revenge. There’s the early glory under Emperor Marcus Aurelius (Richard Harris), the unjust fall at the hands of Commodus (Joaquin Phoenix), the rebirth through gladiatorial games in the provinces under the ownership of Proximo (Oliver Reed), the revelation, and the back and forth towards revenge in the end. And yet, I just can’t connect. I’ve been laying blame on the film’s tone for a while, but this recent viewing has refined some more of my criticism.

Firstly, that tone is remarkably dour. There are a bare few happy moments throughout, but they are exceedingly rare, leaving most of the rest of the film with this oppressive sense of dourness rooted in a few ideas the film is bandying about. Of course the beginning of all that is the fact that Maximus has had his family murdered by a corrupt emperor who killed his own father to gain the throne. I think one of the centers of my problem with tone is Lucilla (Connie Nielsen), Commodus’ sister. She and Maximus had a previous relationship years ago, and she seems to be some kind of feminine respite from the masculinity around her, but she’s almost written like a man. Outside of her look, she’s not terribly feminine, hard and cold even in the beginning, given one moment to smile and laugh (at Maximus’ expense) but is otherwise not much of a respite in any form from the misery around her. Even for Maximus, she’s never more than a potential ally in a dark and dangerous game.

The only time this film lightens up with its tone is in its action sequences, and those are generally pretty great. Scott is a quality action filmmaker who understands the point of spectacle and how to achieve it, and the battle in Germania, the fights in Africa, and the gladiatorial bouts in the Coliseum are all expertly staged and filmed. So, the film begins strong with its recreation of Roman battle tactics, helped by Hans Zimmer’s and Lisa Gerrard’s rousing score, and then it just gets lost in the dour tone and machinations of the Roman Senate.

And that leads me to me second main criticism: the politics. There’s a point later when Commodus is quizzing Lucilla about what the people of Rome like about distant victories, and she replies the Glory of Rome which is an idea (her definition). The larger plot of this film is about the return of the Glory of Rome to its pre-Imperial state as a Republic without an emperor. Okay, fine. It never, not once, makes the case that the pre-Imperial state was better in any way than the current state. It never once digs into how or why Maximus himself should care beyond the fact that it’s the dying wish of Marcus Aurelius (would the real one have wanted it? doesn’t matter, this is just a movie).

And that leads me to what I think is the core of my issues with this film: Maximus has no strong reason to want what the plot is actually about. He wants revenge against Commodus, which should be enough, but then there’s this effort to wrap him up with this effort by the Senate, led by Gracchus (Derek Jacobi) to have Commodus return power to the Senate (a perverse incentive that Commodus points out and we’re supposed to ignore for some reason). But why does Maximus care? Because Marcus Aurelius told him to care, essentially. It’s a real disconnect in how the film presents its characters and how they interact with the plot that the film never actually reconciles.

And yet, I think the film is pretty okay. It’s mostly a spectacle, and on that front, I give the film full marks. It looks great from beginning to end. There’s a painterly approach to the visuals, helped in no small part by Scott’s penchant for using smoke machines everywhere (if I ever make a film myself, I’m using smoke machines, and it’s all Ridley Scott’s fault). The action scenes are all top-notch. The performances from everyone are committed and effective with special mention to Phoenix who goes all in as Commodus, demonstrating his descent into a mad paranoia well.

I just do not engage with the story very much. It is this weird combination of super-seriousness, Roman politics, assumed presumptions (like shouting “Democracy” in a crowd and expecting a cheer), and an odd disconnect between the main character and the plot that’s unfolding around him. I know the film has legions of fans, all willing to go into the arena to defend the film’s honor from anyone who would besmirch it, but besmirch it I have done. It’s a weird story, man. I don’t think it really works, but it’s well-made, fun in spots, and looks great. That’s far from nothing.

Rating: 2.5/4

8 thoughts on “Gladiator

  1. Well I think you’re wrong and I am ready and willing to go into the arena for it.

    I don’t think you’re wrong about not liking it too much, tastes vary. Personally I’d be offended if a movie with a theme of revenge (and not just revenge, a slave killing an emperor for revenge) had quips and jokes and a funny sidekick. Oh and with a sassy female character to belittle the men and make related comments. We should be humbly grateful on our knees that Disney didn’t make this. But this is a serious drama, not well leavened with humor and if you’re looking for that, then I can see not connecting.

    For me, this was the first big spectacle movie I’d seen in a long, long time. It was epic in size and scope, the CGI (and set design) creation of Imperial Rome was glorious. And I got to see a bona fide movie star be born right before my eyes. Russell Crowe’s Maximus was a star making role if ever there was one. Crowe had been slowly climbing the ranks out of the Australian film ghetto into smaller roles in American movies. He had a breakout in L. A. Confidential (another of my favorite movies) but in Gladiator he exploded. He was all charisma and masculine power and I doubt we’ll ever see that in Hollywood again.

    The politics of the plot are indeed confusing and I honestly blame too many screenwriters for that. But to me, that doesn’t matter. The battle over power in Rome doesn’t matter to the story, because it doesn’t matter to Maximus. Because this story isn’t about politics of Rome. It’s about grief. Grief and revenge drive Maximus. You can see that mostly clearly in the ending, where Maximus doesn’t seize power or ‘give Rome back to the people’*. Maximus dies. More specifically, he enters the gates of the dead and is reunited with his family. THAT is what Maximus wanted this whole time. When his family died, Maximus the general died with them. Maximus the Gladiator is a revenant. That is why the attempts at charm by Lucilla fail both times she tries them: at the beginning of the movie, he’s an honestly happily married man, late in the movie he is dead to romance. The only sparks of life in him come from the interactions with Lucilla’s son, who reminds him of his lost son. So to me, the theme of the movie is clear and the lovely, lovely soundtrack by Lisa Gerrard (of Dead Can Dance fame) and Hans Zimmer reinforce that.

    So there are flaws in the screenplay but the theme is strong enough, the action and spectacle is great enough and Russell Crowe is charismatic enough for the flaws not to break anything that matters to me.

    I love Gladiator. It is a throwback to old Hollywood in so, so many ways. And it also reinforces my belief that Ridley Scott is utterly dependent on a good screenplay. He can make a great screenplay into a great movie but he can’t or won’t fix the flaws in a flawed script.

    *who wouldn’t have known what to do with it after two centuries or more of Imperial rule. The cursus honorum system that had motivated Roman citizens to rise in status and gain experience in rulership had been shattered long before the first emperor consolidated power in his sole hands.

    Like

    1. I think I mostly wish the politics had been pushed aside to the point of nonexistence. Something like 30 minutes of this film are people talking about “Republic” and the “Glory of Rome.” It’s hard to argue that it’s not the point when so much of the film’s time gets eaten up by it and Maximus follows through on all of these wishes by using his dying words to try and make Rome a Republic again.

      A more appropriate ending would have been, “Republic? I don’t care. I killed the man who killed my family. ARGHHHHHH!” (Maybe he was dictating!)

      I wish it was more of a pure vengeance story.

      In regards to the humor, I wouldn’t imagine a Ryan Reynolds or MCU type “we’re not taking anything seriously” move, just moments of lightness. Maximus and his buddies in the arena bonding slightly. We get one small moment of that when the big guy pretends the bowl of food is poisoned, but it’s brief. Just some more of little things like that, and I would have really liked it if Lucilla was just warmer in general. Maybe a scene or two with Lucius where they are just mother and son. Something like that to break up the monotony of dourness.

      Like

  2. in the film they reference it has been 100 years since the Army entered Rome, that’s about Vespasian the General that broke the terrible row of Emperors really since Augustus proper although Claudius wasn’t terrible, also there are echoes of Corolianus, from long past in the Roman republic re Cassius Dio, Commodus did have a less dramatic ending, and Pertinax replaced him

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 1) I didn’t like the visual darkness, made it hard to see what was going on. Then again when I saw it I needed glasses and was putting off going to the optometrist.
    2) I didn’t like the basic contradiction: gladiatorial games are evil, now lets enjoy some gladiatorial games!
    3) Refounding the Roman Republic would not have occurred to anyone by the time of Commodus, it was a dead letter by then.
    You are right, a better movie would have been a straight-up revenge story stripped of idealistic politics.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In Roger Ebert’s original review, he talked about how the visual were smudgy. I think that Scott and company actually went back and redid some of the special effects, especially for that hero shot of the Coliseum from the inside, for the home video release (one of the earliest mentions I’ve heard of it happening).

      That contradiction is at the heart of so many action movies that have some level of seriousness, especially war films. Action is pretty naturally exciting, especially if you can see what’s going on. How do we make it not exciting but terrible? Gladiator did just go for the exciting route, though. I’m not entirely complaining, though. They were the most entertaining bits of the film.

      But yeah, those politics…they’re weird, man. It’s at least 30 minutes of the film, nearly a fifth of it, dedicated to, essentially, alien politics. I don’t want to insult Gladiator like this, but it’s almost Episode 1 levels.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment